Bridgewater-Emery One-Act Play

“One-Act Play” is one of three speech activities, in addition to “Oral Interpretation” and “Debate & Individual Events,” offered through the South Dakota High School Activities Association.  The One-Act Play Festival is held annually, starting with region competitions in January for Class A and Class B schools.  The festival provides an opportunity to present a one-act play production to others and to see the productions of other schools in the state.  Each school is allowed 45 minutes in which to set up, perform the play, and strike the set.  Students receive constructive feedback from a panel of three judges immediately after the performance at both the region and state levels.  Two Class B schools from each region advance to the state competition.  There are currently eight Class B regions in South Dakota with approximately eight schools per region.  


Region 1-B Festival: January 24, 2024

 Location: University of Sioux Falls

State Festival: Feb. 1-3, 2024

Location: Brandon Valley High School, Brandon, SD

Congratulations to Mara Zorr, Tessa DeWitt, Austin Kjetland, Oscar Fink, and Alaina Olson

for earning "Superior Performer" awards at the 2023 Region 1-B One-Act Play Festival!

Advisor: Valerie Marsh